My Stitch Fix Review #1 – October 2014

At long last, after nearly 1 month of waiting, my Stitch Fix finally arrived!!  If you haven’t heard of Stitch Fix, here’s the deal: Stitch fix is like hiring a personal shopper to pick out clothes for you.  You go online and fill out a comprehensive style profile.  This profile includes questions like sizes, style of clothing you like to wear, and types of clothing you are in need of (dresses, work clothes, casual, etc).  You can also leave as long of a note as you would like for your stylist to make sure they know what you would like, or link a Pinterest page to your stitch fix account so you can show them your favorite clothes.  After you fill out your style profile, you schedule your fix.  You can request a one-time fix, or schedule recurring shipments.  Each time you get a shipment, you pay a $20.00 styling fee, which you can put towards any clothing you decide to keep.  By the way, once you sign up for stitch fix, you get a referral code, which you can give to anyone who decides to sign up because of your experience.  For each person that signs up, they give you a nice $25.00 in credit, which I think is very generous.  All of the stitch fix links on this page have my referral code embedded, just FYI, but might as well give someone your credit if you are going to sign up anyways, right?

Anyways, on to the clothes!

So I got the notification that my box shipped on Wednesday, and was scheduled to arrive on Saturday, so I was very surprised and pleased when it showed up Friday afternoon!  I had peeked at what they were sending me earlier, so i already had some idea what was on the way, and I was excited!  I had heard that peeking early may help temper your expectations so you are not disappointed when the box arrives.  I think this was probably true for me. So here’s the box:

IMG_1570

It was quite a bit smaller than expected, but that was actually a plus rather than a minus.

IMG_1571 IMG_1572

All of the items were neatly packaged in a pretty box, and the box includes a personalized note from your stylist.  For me, this included the reasons she picked out the clothes that she did and what I could pair together or add from my own closet.  There is also a style card included for every piece of clothing showing two different ways to wear them including accessories and shoes.

IMG_1574

Here’s a first look at all of the clothes, I’m liking all the prints and colors!  I had told my stylist that I wanted mostly clothes for work, that I liked floral prints, polka dots and shirts with unexpected details, and that I really like maxi dresses.  Here are the items one by one.  Prices are shown so you can get an idea of what everything costs.  Stitch Fix says they try to keep their price point around $55.00 per item, but you can customize how much you are willing to spend on your style profile.

First Item: Market and Spruce Abi Colorblock Maxi Dress – $88.00

IMG_1576 IMG_1588

Ah, this maxi dress… This was the piece of clothing I was most excited about when I sneak peeked on my shipment.  I have seen lots of blogs with people looking cute in this dress.  But alas, it was not for me.  The top was too big, which made the band in the middle hit me in a weird spot.  Because of this, and because the fabric was thin and clingy, I felt like it emphasized any extra bulge on my belly, which I consider my “problem area”.  Also, as you can see in the picture, it was several inches too long.  This might have been ok if I wore heels, but I pretty much don’t.  However, I was ok with not loving this dress because 1. I really need work clothes and this was the only piece I couldn’t wear to work, and 2. $88.00 for a maxi dress?!?!  I would have to really, really love it (and even then maybe not).

2.  41Hawthorne Coco Swiss Dot Lattice Detail Blouse – $68.00

3. Liverpool Anita Ponte Pant – $78.00

IMG_1598

First off, these are seriously the best pants ever.  Like, for real… I want to wear these pants every day and not take them off.  I am amazed that Stitch Fix could find me pants that fit so well on my first fix – especially because in my style profile it asked what my waist size was in inches and I didn’t know!  So no surprise I had to keep them. $78.00 is still a little pricey for me for pants, but these felt really well made, and they can be worn for work or casual so I will get a lot of use out of them.

The shirt – It looks really cute in the picture, and it was actually really cute on.  However, it came with a built-in (but detachable) undershirt in the same color.  The undershirt was way shorter than the rest of the shirt, short enough that I would want to keep adjusting it throughout the day, but if I pulled it down even slightly, my bra would stick out over the top and was visible through the cut-outs in the shirt.  I could have just worn it with a different undershirt, but I don’t think a black or white undershirt (the only colors I have) would look as good, and really, if I’m going to spend $68.00 on a shirt, it needs to be perfect.

4. Pink Martini Alexzandria Floral Print Sheer Sleeve Knit Top – $68.00

IMG_1610

This top was fine.  I really liked the pattern and the shirt looked like something I would pick out on my own at a store.  The fit was a little wide, but other wise it was fine.  I would probably wear it to work.  I liked that it had an exposed zipper in the back.  I didn’t end up keeping it because 1. $68.00 is a lot to spend on a shirt that is just “fine” and 2. although my stylist said I could pair it with these black pants, I felt like it made the outfit too dark, and I pretty much only have dark colored pants.

5. Sweet Rain Lucio Graphic Print Blouse – $48.00

IMG_1632

So I was not excited at all about this shirt when I saw it was coming.  I thought it would be too loose and drapey, and shirts like that tend to hide my figure rather than flatter it.  But when I put on this shirt, it was love at first sight.  I had to keep it!  As a bonus, stitch fix included a black undershirt to wear under it, which was not on my invoice or mentioned anywhere in the paperwork.  I thought that was extremely thoughtful.  I have worn this exact outfit twice already this weekend and feel like I look really cute and put together in it.

The rest of the clothes I put into the pre-paid usps shipping envelope provided and dropped it off at the post office – easy as that!  They give you 3 days from delivery until the package is due to be in the mail, so you have plenty of time to decide.  You also check out online and let them know which items you are sending back and why you did not want to keep them.

My overall thoughts – this was an extremely fun experience.  No, I didn’t love every piece of clothing sent to me, but I didn’t actually want to, because I was not planning on spending that much on clothes (Stitch Fix does give you a 25% discount if you decide to keep your whole box, but that would still be pretty pricey).  I am planning on getting another box, I think I will stay on every other month shipments for now and see if I still like it.  I think this service is great for branching out on your wardrobe, and for finding quality pieces in brands you haven’t tried before.  For me, I think it also lets me know what basic pieces my wardrobe is lacking (A LOT).  However, I would not use stitch fix to buy all my clothes, only because of cost.  Some of the items (like the maxi) I also feel like I could find similar items for much less.  I did leave a note for my stylist for next time (I requested the same stylist again) that I would be very unlikely to purchase shirts priced above $60.00.

Again, if my experience has made you want to try Stitch Fix for yourself, I would appreciate it if you use my referral link, the only risk is $20.00 if you don’t like anything!  And no, I did not receive any compensation (other than referral credit) to try Stitch fix, I paid for my styling fee myself.  So what do you guys think?  Have any of you tried stitch fix yet?  How were your fixes?

Stay tuned for pictures from my mom and sister’s fixes – they are due to get their first ones later this week and i will share their experiences with you guys too so long as they don’t mind!

4 thoughts on “My Stitch Fix Review #1 – October 2014

  1. Pingback: Freezer Meals, Running, and a Little More Stitch Fix! | Life in Balance

  2. Pingback: Mom’s Stitch Fix Review #2 November 2014 | Life in Balance

Leave a Reply

