My Running…Start

So I told you all that I enjoy running, right?  And, really, I do.  I will say if you are still on the fence about running (or even firmly on the other side of the fence), it’s not like you can just start running and immediately like it.  Or, at least I can’t.  When I first got back into running about 3 months after having V, it did not feel good, and I did not like it.  Several members of my family and I had decided to sign up for the Walt Disney World Marathon though so I knew I needed to train. I wasn’t sure then if running would ever feel good, but i remembered that I genuinely had enjoyed it when I was in shape at previous points in my life.  

To start out, I downloaded the *free* “Couch to 5k” App on my iPhone.  This is an 8 week training app that gets you to go from no running at all to continuously running 3.1 miles.  It starts with walk/running (30 seconds running, 2 min walking) and gradually transitions to all running.  Most of the workouts are 30 minutes or less as well, which fit in with even my busy schedule.  Again, totally free.  I tried some of the longer “Couch to …” apps but did not like them as much.  Even the “couch to 10K” app regularly has training times of 60+ minutes, and I just don’t have that much time!  But feel free to try them out if you are interested. 

couch-to-5k-app-3

Once I got to the point where I could run 3.1 miles fairly comfortably, I finally started to enjoy running.  I tell people all the time “if you can run 3 miles, you can run most distances”, at least for me, 3 miles was my turning point.  I continued training for longer and longer miles, and eventually finished my first marathon in January, 2014.  It wasn’t a pretty finish, I definitely “bonked” in the middle, but I finished and am extremely proud of myself.  I have now signed up for 2 more marathons this season, and am hoping that they will both be much stronger races.

My plan is to eventually talk about the apps, gear, etc that I use when I run, as well as the races as I run them, but if you are interested in getting started running, this app is a good place to start.  Besides for that, all you need are some sneakers, a t-shirt, shorts and (maybe) a sports bra!  What are your go-to apps or gear when you run?  Have you tried this app?

 

**I have no affiliation at all with any of the C25K products, and receive no compensation

Leave a Reply

