Simple Dinner – Rachel Ray 5 ingredient Stuffed Chicken Plus My Own Additions :)

Monday and Wednesdays are usually my main dinner nights.  Since I have those days off from work, I have a little more time for dinner planning/cooking.  For some reason I can’t really remember now, I was thinking about stuffed chicken.  I have never, ever “stuffed” anything before so I was a little intimidated about how exactly to go about doing that, but Mark really likes Chicken Cordon Bleu, so I was pretty sure he would like other stuffed chicken.  I Google searched “stuffed chicken” and found a recipe with bleu cheese in it, but it was just stuffed under the skin of a chicken breast, and I wanted the real thing.  However, I LOVE bleu cheese, so I decided whatever kind of stuffed chicken I made, it was going to have bleu cheese in it.  So then I stumbled across this Rachel Ray 5 Ingredient Recipe here, and it looked seriously easy!  It didn’t have bleu cheese in it, but I decided it would taste better with it added anyways…and it’s BACON WRAPPED!

Let’s get started.  Here are my ingredients for the chicken:

photo 1 (11)

My 4 ingredients: Chicken breasts (Tyson’s Frozen Boneless/Skinless), Bleu Cheese, Philadelphia Cream Cheese Onion and Chive Flavored, Bacon

This was also my first experience with a meat tenderizer (pretty sad, I know), and I was a little intimidated, but really, it’s not that hard – really.  It was kind of fun actually, and V thought the sound it made was very entertaining, she was running around the house knocking on things with her little fist – so cute.  And – we’re getting off topic here – she picked out her clothes on Wednesday too, and I just had to show you.

photo (6)

yes, those are shorts on her head…

See?  Ridiculously cute, right?  Anyways, back to the meat tenderizer – I used it to pound out the (now thawed), frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts to about 4-5mm (maybe? I didn’t measure) thickness.  Next, I spread the cream cheese on the now flat chicken breast.  I have to mention, the recipe called for “Garlic and Herb” flavored cream cheese, but I couldn’t find it at Publix, so I opted for the Onion and Chive flavored.  Little secret:  Mark HATES chives (I never knew chives had enough of a flavor to hate), but i didn’t tell him what kind of cream cheese I used, and he liked the chicken.  Don’t tell…I’m sure he knows by now though since the leftover cream cheese is in the refrigerator and he’s pretty observant.  There were also a lot of other interesting flavors options that I found, chipotle flavor seeming the most interesting to me, but I played it safe for the first go.

photo 2 (9)

Next, I sprinkled a little bit of bleu cheese on top of the cream cheese and rolled up the chicken.  I wrapped each piece of chicken in 2 pieces of bacon and pinned it with toothpicks.

photo 1 (10)

Now the recipe recommends grilling the chicken for 25min.  We have a fairly nice grill, but I am not that comfortable with it, although it’s probably easy.  I am making this again on Sunday and will probably try grilling them.  This time I cooked them in a pan on the stove, medium heat for 25 min. which ended up charring the bacon a little bit.  I cooked V’s chicken first (she wasn’t that impressed).  With the second batch, I added a little olive oil to the pan.  This may have helped a little bit, but not much.  The grill might be better with that.  They still tasted good but the look could have been better.

photo 3 (4)

A little charred, not that pretty, but this is real life and it tasted good.  We ate it with sliced tomatoes and wild rice.  The taste was great, as mentioned, however I think the strong taste of the bleu cheese might actually have not gone that well with the onion taste of the cream cheese.  When I make it on Sunday I am going to try it without the bleu cheese 😦 and see how it tastes.  I really want to try it with chipotle cream cheese and bleu cheese sometime.  Definitely not low calorie, I’m sure, but it is nice for a fancy kind of dinner. Oh, by the way, this was also a pretty inexpensive dinner as well, and I have enough leftovers from what I made Wednesday to make another batch. If you want to try it yourself, you can find the original recipe here by Rachel Ray.  Thanks again guys!  Let me know what you think.  Any suggestions?

**UPDATE**

So I made this chicken again on Sunday, and it came out perfectly!  I still didn’t grill it, we didn’t have enough propane, but leaving out the bleu cheese made all the difference.  I guess the first time the cheese was melting and burning in the pan, without it the bacon didn’t burn at all.  I still put a little olive oil in the pan though.

2 thoughts on “Simple Dinner – Rachel Ray 5 ingredient Stuffed Chicken Plus My Own Additions :)

    • I turned it every five min or so with tongs, but it wasn’t hat easy because of the toothpicks. I think so long as you rotate it enough that the bacon dosnt burn in any one spot you should be fine 🙂 really easy, and I’m not that good in the kitchen either!

      Like

Leave a Reply

